Experience Light

LEYEF

lichterleben1


The predominant part of our reception of information – more than 80 percent according to scientific studies – is performed by the visual sense. In order to make this information visible to the human eye, however, we need light. Light is thus the most important vehicle for information transfer.

The evolution of our visual organ was determined by natural light, the light of the sun. The mechanisms and functionality of our visual perception are shaped by and emerged due to the characteristics of daylight. At the same time, our brain activities also originated.

“Perception is a formative process, that does not end in the eye but reaches its outright completion in the brain.”
        Dr. phil. Walter Witting, Perception Psychologist

In the course of evolution, our daily rhythm consequently also adapted to the conditions of daylight. The regular alternation between brightness and darkness determines the time frames used for activity and recreation.

Light is constantly perceived, even in the dark or during sleep. This fact combined with the enormous cognitive capacity required by the visual sense are primary reasons for the predominantly subconscious nature of visual perception. On the level of consciousness, human beings show utterly low sensors for the visual sense. In contrast to smells, temperature or sounds, the human being is hardly able to evaluate the quality of light let alone differentiate between good and bad lighting.

The consequences may not be apparent at present but will show in the long run, and they can be severe. Deficient lighting both at the working place and at home can cause mental stress and tiredness, which can subsequently lead to discomfort and illness. Scientific studies investigating light and health have shown that bad lighting can do harm to the biological clock, the so-called circadian rhythm, and can even change the hormone balance and cause illness.

Good lighting does the exact opposite: it strengthens our organism and makes us more resilient and productive.

Good lighting creates well-being!

As we have mostly stayed indoors ever since the invention of the light bulb, it is of much greater importance in today’s times to cater for the best quality in both natural and artificial lighting.

Daylight openings need to consider the following aspects in order to live up to optimal natural lighting conditions:

  • Amount of daylight
  • Distribution of daylight
  • Sun shield
  • Glare shield
  • Outdoor connection

High-value artificial lighting must fulfil the following criteria:

  • Level of lighting
  • Distribution of brightness
  • Limit of glare
  • Direction of light and amount of shade
  • Light colour and colour rendition
  • Conditioning and indoor climate

The complexity particularly lies in the fact that the lighting system must meet the afore-listed criteria in an interconnected and simultaneous manner rather than in isolation.

Due to the mentioned reasons, lighting solutions nowadays have to do much more than just support the completion of a visual task.

Considering the close connection between light and health, innovative light also needs to positively affect concentration, performance rates and well-being.

In line with the outcomes of recent research, accurate spectral composition of light, the intensity and the duration of exposure, dependent on the time of day and differentiated by the use of room and the visual task, are factors that guarantee optimal effects of light on health.

A premium as well as contemporary lighting design needs to take these qualitative aspects deriving from perceptual psychology and optical physics into account. In this regard, the implementation of an economic as well as environment-friendly lighting technology for an optimization of the energy balance is self-evident.

Mag. (MCI) Ing. Markus Peskoller
CEO of LICHT-INNOVATIV GmbH

LICHTerLEBEN

LICHTerLEBEN

lichterleben1


Der Überwiegende Teil unserer Informationsaufnahme – gemäß wissenschaftlichen Erhebungen über 80 Prozent – erfolgt über den visuellen Kanal. Jedoch benötigen wir Licht, um diese Informationen für das menschliche Auge sichtbar zu machen. Licht ist daher das wichtigste Medium zur Informationsvermittlung.

Die Entwicklung unseres Sehorganes wurde vom natürlichen Licht – dem Licht der Sonne – bestimmt. Die Mechanismen und Funktionsweise unserer optischen Wahrnehmung sind durch die Eigenschaften des Tageslichtes geprägt und haben sich daraus entwickelt. Parallel dazu sind die Verrechnungsvorgänge im Gehirn entstanden.

„Wahrnehmung ist ein gestaltender Prozess, der nicht im Auge endet, sondern im Gehirn seine erschöpfende Vollendung findet.“
        Dr. phil. Walter Witting, Wahrnehmungspsychologe

Unser Aktivitätsrhythmus hat sich in logischer Konsequenz im Laufe der Evolution ebenso am Tageslicht ausgerichtet. Der regelmäßige Wechsel von Helligkeit und Dunkelheit definiert unsere Zeiträume für Aktivität und Erholung.

Licht wird permanent wahrgenommen, selbst im Dunkeln, auch im Schlaf. Dieser Umstand, und die vom Sehsinn geforderte, enorme kognitive Leistung sind die primären Gründe dafür, dass die visuelle Wahrnehmung größtenteils unbewusst erfolgt. Der Mensch hat für den Sehsinn auf der Bewusstseinsebene eine äußerst geringe Sensorik. Anders als bei Gerüchen, Temperatur oder Geräuschen ist er kaum in der Lage, eine Lichtqualität zu beurteilen oder auch nur gutes Licht von schlechtem zu unterscheiden.

Die Folgen zeigen sich nicht im Augenblick, sondern langfristig. Und sie können fatal sein. Regelmäßiger Aufenthalt unter mangelhafter Beleuchtung, sei es an der Arbeitsstätte oder im Privatbereich, verursacht mentale Überlastungen, in weiterer Folge Müdigkeit, Stress, Unwohlsein. Wissenschaftliche Studien im Bereich Licht und Gesundheit haben erwiesen, dass schlechtes Licht die inneren Uhren, die s.g. circadianen Rhythmen, stört, ja sogar den Hormonhaushalt verändert, und Krankheit auslösen kann.

Eine gute Beleuchtung bewirkt genau das Gegenteil. Sie stärkt unseren Organismus, macht uns robuster, leistungsfähiger.

Gutes Licht schafft Wohlbefinden!

Da wir uns spätestens seit der Erfindung der Glühbirne überwiegend im Innenraum aufhalten ist es heute umso wichtiger, für beste Lichtqualitäten – natürliche wie künstliche – zu sorgen.

Für eine optimale natürliche Belichtung muss eine Tageslichtöffnung hierbei folgenden Aspekten gerecht werden:

  • Tageslichtmenge
  • Tageslichtverlauf
  • Sonnenschutz
  • Blendschutz
  • Bezug nach außen

Eine hochwertige künstliche Beleuchtung muss nachstehende Kriterien erfüllen:

  • Beleuchtungsniveau
  • Helligkeitsverteilung
  • Blendungsbegrenzung
  • Lichtrichtung und Schattigkeit
  • Lichtfarbe und Farbwiedergabe
  • Konditionierung und Raumklima

Die Komplexität besteht insbesondere darin, dass die Lichtanlage den genannten Kriterien nicht unabhängig voneinander, sondern vernetzt und vor allem gleichzeitig gerecht werden muss.

Eine Beleuchtungslösung darf heute aus erwähnten Gründen jedoch nicht mehr nur der Erfüllung einer Sehaufgabe dienen.

Angesichts der Zusammenhänge zwischen Licht und Gesundheit muss innovatives Licht insbesondere auch positiven Einfluss auf Konzentration, Leistungsfähigkeit und Wohlbefinden nehmen.

Die richtige spektrale Zusammensetzung des Lichtes, die Intensität und Bestrahlungsdauer, jeweils in Abhängigkeit von der Tageszeit und differenziert nach Raumnutzung und Sehaufgabe, sind jene Faktoren, welche nach den Erkenntnissen der vorliegenden Forschungsarbeiten eine optimale Auswirkung von Licht auf Gesundheit sicherstellen.

Eine hochwertige und zeitgemäße Lichtplanung muss diese qualitativen Aspekte der Wahrnehmungspsychologie und optischen Physik berücksichtigen. Der Einsatz wirtschaftlicher und umweltschonender Beleuchtungstechnologien zur Optimierung der Energiebilanz ist hierbei eine Selbstverständlichkeit.

Mag. (MCI) Ing. Markus Peskoller
Geschäftsführer der LICHT-INNOVATIV GmbH